Power Sticks – a breakfast for those on the run


I’m really excited to write this post today for several reasons. First off, this is my very first blog posting to Bonsology. Second, i’m trying a new recipe today that will hopefully be better on the lips than the hips and maybe just maybe, this new recipe will change up my mundane drone-like morning routine.

For those of you who either don’t have time in the morning to make breakfast or are too lazy/tired, boy have I got the solution for you. These little gems will give you the fuel you need to carry the morning until lunch time. They’re called Power Sticks, a recipe I pulled from the Edmonton Metro. (For more visit emilyrichardscooks.ca)

For the past, oh I don’t know a billion years, I get up every morning the same way that I always do. It’s not a bad thing that I do the same routine every morning, it’s kind of convenient actually because I can perform the entire task in my sleep.

For me, this recipe will most likely be a light mid-morning snack and for some of you it could be a good breakfast substitute. Spending $21.00 at the grocery store on four ingredients wasn’t exactly what I expected, but they pay off in the end trust me. I must also comment that this recipe is supported by The Canadian Press and Weight Watchers Canada.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup chunky peanut butter
  • 1 1/3 cups corn flakes (your choice, I used Post Great Grains Nut Medley)
  • 2/3 cup instant skim milk powder
  • 6 tbsp liquid honey

First combine all your ingredients together into a mixing bowl.

Then, mix your ingredients together. It’s okay to crush your cereal finer, I prefer this or else it hurts my gums.

Ideally you want to get a consistency that will allow you to form a “stick” out of it or bar if you want to be politically correct. Next, take a moderate size portion and form it to your liking.

Make sure that you seal them in an air tight container and store at room temperature.

There you have it! Power Sticks! The best part about these is that they are incredibly simple to make, they are healthy and they will boost your metabolism and give you that extra oomph you need to get you through your morning. Personally, it’s the perfect marriage of peanut butter and honey mixed with the crunch you need to wake you up and get you moving. Please let me know what you think of them and tell me how you made yours!!

Cheers,

Jamie

8 thoughts on “Power Sticks – a breakfast for those on the run

  1. Welcome to the blogging society Jamie! I really enjoyed your first entry and look forward to reading many more. You are off and ‘running’ and that’s one thing these treats would provide a nutritious boost for. Can’t wait to try them.

  2. Looks great! Though the idea of powdered skim milk makes me nervous. Probably because I had a daycare teacher that used to put powdered milk in our cereal and it was all clumpy and gross. But I’m sure it’s much better in bar form. 🙂

    • Tell me about it, I was a little apprehensive about the skim milk idea myself. They turned out ok though. Oddly enough the skim milk powder helps to make the bars not so sticky so you can eat them and still have clean hands!

  3. At your age, doing the same morning routine is nothing in comparison to doing the same morning routine at my age. And that, my dear, is why I drink. Oh, and give this recipe to LB so she can make them and bring them to me.

Leave a Reply

