There’s a new kid on the block

Today is a great day. You know why? I am going to be an uncle. I’ve been an uncle for about a year now to my sister’s two children by marriage and their family dog Gordie. Today however, I’m going to be an uncle because as we speak my poor sister is lying in a hospital bed with contractions galore and nothing to do to pass the time.

I myself on the other hand ended up spending the night with the Gord Man lying on the couch wide-awake watching the late show anticipating the news. Of course this was only after I had taken him for a walk and he pooed twice…yes twice and I only brought one bag. Rookie mistake.

I’m not sure how good of an uncle I am right now. I’d like to think that I am pretty cool to the young-ins. I wonder if they miss me when I’m not around. Let’s just say if I go missing, I’d prefer if my family could put my face and name on the back of a wine bottle instead of a milk carton, then at least my friends will know I’m missing.

Naturally, I am exhausted this morning and I have a conference to go to that is going to last all day. I’m sure it will be a good experience and great networking opportunity; I just hope that if I start snoring, someone will at least have the decency to give me the ol’ greasy elbow.

So while my sister and her husband sit in the delivery room awaiting the arrival of what will be the biggest bundle of joy this family has seen in 4 years, I will be giving the family the play by play as the day progresses, unless of course my sister wants to text everyone during her contractions. Which I doubt.

5 thoughts on “There’s a new kid on the block

  1. Congratulations! I hope all went well — the crack about the wine bottle had me laughing, namely because it’s true for me as well. Obviously. Don’t worry about the dog – he was probably just nervous about his mama. Congrats again!

    • Thanks! It was a boy and his name is Nate! I’m sure Gordie was just going through withdrawl from not seeing his mama for a couple of days. I think everything is pretty much back to normal by now 🙂

Leave a Reply

