Can you dig it?

It’s been 1,728,000 seconds since my last blog post and all I have to say is two things. I’m sorry and I’m so ashamed. Please let me explain, it’s not you it’s me, no seriously. While shutting you out of Bonsology I’ve taken on about ten new projects, all of which are awesome and I can’t wait to share them with you. For the time being I have to hold out because I’m waiting to have it done for you so you can be surprised, even though I know you probably won’t be (click, read, delete). You’re probably thinking why not just write about it as you go along and I completely agree with you. After thinking though I figure it’s better to just finish this project and surprise you with it rather than spoil it and drag it out to an anti-climatic ending.

What I really want to tell you about today is more for my bonsai readers. My bestie’s parents have some dwarf trees along the side of their drive way that are slowly dying and they mentioned a while back that they want to rip them out and throw them away. After peeling myself off the floor with angina, I pleaded easily with his mother to let me have them. She is glad to get rid of them as they are an eye sore for her but potential bonsai’s for me. This I believe is going to be my introduction to Yamadori. One of my readers who also write his blog “Alaska Bonsai – For the hardier Bonsai enthusiast.” requested I post some pictures of them as I was asking him for advice. If you are reading this I hope that you are as excited as I am because these little trees really do look like they have so much potential.

The species I have yet to determine so if anyone can identify them please let me know. I’ll most likely transplant them in the spring of next year, if I transplant them now they will never survive and amount enough energy for dormancy for what looks to be a long and very cold Alberta winter.

ImageImageImageImageImage

Not to bad hey?! SO Bonsologists, if you have any tips and advice I would love love love to hear what you think. I’ll keep you posted with a progression series and I will also be posting and showing you why I haven’t posted anything for a decade or so…

5 thoughts on “Can you dig it?

  1. You have your work cut out for you with these trees. Curious as to how the finished product will look. Also, you have really piqued my interest on those secretive other topics, hmmm.

    • You don’t have to tell me twice! I look forward to what they will look like in a year or two. I think what I will do is transplant in the spring as I mentioned and then water the shit out of them for the first year and keep them well protected, then in year two i’ll prune them. I’ve heard that they don’t respond very well to wiring so I think what they are is the shape that I am going to get out of them. Granted the owner of these trees still want to get rid of them in the spring.

  2. Yamadori , or collecting from the wild is a huge part of bonsai.
    That way you get already older .. even ancient trees to use as
    subjects. The technique is called reduction. Instead of waiting
    for a seedling to grow while potted and clipping every branch as
    it forms… you have allowed a tree to get nice and thick and crazy
    on it’s own in the elements. Now your homework is to refine it.
    Step one: dig it up and pot the tree carefully.

  3. Pingback: Remaining Picea glauca – (Can you dig it?) | Bonsology

Leave a Reply

