Mossay!

I’ve been wanting to share something with you for quite some time now. A lot has happened in my life since I lasted posted anything of the sort. My apologies if you have waited so patiently for the surprise I’ve wanted to show you. Quite frankly I’m getting around to that. To keep you coming back for more I’m going to tell you about my discovery and newfound love for moss. As it sits there year after year all over the world waiting to be looked at, it holds a dear spot to my heart by allowing me to reconnect with nature and let go of the things that don’t matter. It has been around longer than you or I, it has been around longer than the dinosaurs. It has been around long enough for us to acknowledge how important it is to our world and the respect it deserves should never fall short of high regards.

Toadstools, fairies and fireflies, all fluttering about in a magickal world. Creatures coming from beneath the woodwork of old oaks and forests oozing green as far as the eye can see. These captures are what we wish we could live in once upon a time. For most this is not feasible. For me, I bottle it up and put on my desk and no I am not saying bottle it up in some feeble metaphoric attempt to express my emotions. It doesn’t take me a mystical spell or a bag of magic beans, it just takes any old jar some soil, the right tools and a great selection of moss.

It’s a simple 4-step process that I will share with you right now.

1. Find yourself a good piece of glassware. One, which seals preferably, this way you, can maintain a humid environment for your moss. Good places to find glassware are your attic, grandma’s house, antique shop etc.

2. Place some pebbles, vermiculite or perlite or a mixture of these together in the bottom of your terrarium. This allows for run off of the water while at the same time provides long standing moisture for your terrarium so you don’t have to water it every day. Think of it as a humidity tray.

3. On top of your non-organic substrate this is where you place your soil. You should be using an acidic soil because moss grows better in an acidic environment. In addition, the soil should be tamped down and flattened so the moss can adhere. Potting soil or peat moss soil.

To tamp the soil I cut a piece of clothing hanger and spiraled the end to make a flat surface and long enough tool to reach the bottom.

4. Lastly pick and choose mosses of your choice to add. When you find some wash it thoroughly to get any insects out. If the neck of your bottle is narrow you will have to cut your moss into strips with scissors. Again, make sure once the moss is in the terrarium that you tamp it down well so it will adhere. Moss has no root system but it will adhere slightly to your substrate. You can choose several different mosses and they will grow good together. At this point once you have added the moss to your terrarium you can also add extra items, small figurines, rocks, twigs to make it look more surreal.

And voila!!

So as this proverbial forest with it’s mystic green and life like qualities that capture my imagination on a day to day basis, I’m comforted to know that even though my life is ever changing and I am ever changing as a person like a rolling stone gathering no moss, I can always count on these terrariums to remain as a constant where I can imagine all the things I want. A rabbit hole to escape too. Never changing, never dying.

9 thoughts on “Mossay!

  1. Moss…. the great debate. There are two very different schools of thought regarding moss and bonsai. Some say it is very natural
    and helps the bonsai. Others say that it is very wrong and hides
    problems with your tree.
    I actually love moss on bonsai. It looks very old and a bit like a golf green. haha

  2. Your moss grow op looks super (and very scientific)…
    here is a little moss secret that may help if you want a nice natural
    looking moss to grow in your bonsai and in pretty quick timeframe.
    Make a moss milkshake… yes I said moss milkshake. Take a couple of hunks of moss, add a few cups of water and a tiny bit
    of a milk culture (ie small spoon of sour cream) . Mix it up in the blender and then water your tree with it. It looks really gross but
    I guarantee you it grows faster and more evenly than trying to
    introduce moss ad hock a piece at a time. Try it ! You’ll like it
    and in no time you with have bonsai with lovely little putting greens.
    The moss is attractive but also soaks up water when it a wet day
    out or watering day in the house… and then liberates the water
    slowly to the tree as it dries out. An almost perfect balance of
    nature. 🙂

Leave a Reply

