From the Heart


When we are born into this world, we have experiences in which we remember. It goes into our brain, we remember them and desire that same experience again. If we get what we desire, we are pleased, if we don’t get what we desire, there is pain. The cycle of seeking pleasure and avoiding pain begins. In reality, every moment we experience from birth is new and every situation is real and pure. From birth we begin the process of having this and wanting that and being this and becoming that. It is not until we get older and lose our innocence do we truly understand how to live.

Becoming in touch with our other five senses truly shows us what reality and life is like. We learn how to become who we are and even still we are learning, changing everyday. The secret is to notice the small things that are good and be thankful and gratuitous of all the little good things we surround ourselves with that often go unnoticed. For the ignorant, this is the most difficult of all to tune in too.

With thanksgiving on approach, I’m beginning to stew up thoughts about the things that I take for granted and what I should be more thankful for. On the contrary, I must add that thanksgiving isn’t the only time to think about these things, this really should be and everyday process.

The most important of all things to be thankful for is the people who believe in you, the relationships that you have invested in and the moments captured as your life whooshes past you in the blink of an eye. It occurred to me recently that if I am too busy dwelling on the past and thinking about the future, I won’t be able to fully notice how fantastic things are right now. Plus thinking about the past and future opens the opportunity to compare and ultimately perceive things as not good enough. What I have now is all that exists and all that matters. The point is to make all of it as good as it can possibly be. Living in the now is a gift people! That’s why they call it the “present”.

Laughter, affection, appreciation, compassion, playfulness and love are now permanent words in my vocabulary. These feelings and thoughts must exist in order for spontaneity and must be treated with care. People with a strong sense of these things don’t necessarily have more than others or are “lucky”, they simply recognize and see more beauty in their lives.

I have it so good. I’m so grateful for the people in my life, those strong enough to believe in me, to love me for who I am and to stand by my side.

Thank you. I love you.

2 thoughts on “From the Heart

    • Thank you! I was feeling a lottle mushy. Mind you I was not drinking wine at the time, had I been, the post would have been ten times better. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

