Beef and Quinoa Stew

Recently I’ve started reading that book that everyone seems to be talking about, “Wheat Belly” by William Davis, M.D. Although I have to say I am not completely convinced that eliminating wheat is the right choice for me and everyone that I have openly talked to about this book has shot me down and not shown an ounce of interest, I have to say he’s got a point. As a scientist in cardiovascular research, I’m looking at this from a perspective most would not consider. I won’t go into to many details only to say that you should probably read this book. If you are chronically fatigued, get frequent headaches and can’t seem to shed that fat ass you’re carrying around, read this book. If you are a heart patient and you want to change your life so you can spend the last ten years of your life with watching your grandchildren grow up, read this book. If you have been overweight your entire life and the doctors blame it on “genetics”, read this book.

While I started this book I decided to eliminate wheat from my diet. Although it has been a difficult journey this last week, i’ve got to say I am already starting to find myself with more energy and that mental fog that seems to linger in my brain day in and day out has faded.

Eliminating wheat is not an easy task, you must consider that it is not a diet but rather a lifestyle change. It shouldn’t matter whether you are diabetic or recently diagnosed with celiac disease, eliminating wheat is good for all. On that note, I have been attempting some new recipe’s including this quinoa stew that I whipped up this evening. If you are interested give it a try. My apologies I normally like to include a step by step with pictures but I’m just too lazy. Here’s the recipe:

  • 2 lbs of lean stewing beef (fat removed)
  • 1-2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 large onions, sliced
  • 6 stalks celery, chopped
  • 4 large carrots, chopped
  • 10 – 16 cloves of garlic (I know that’s a lot of garlic)
  • 4 tsp worcestershire sauce
  • dash of tabasco
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 cup beet juice
  • 1 cup beef stock
  • 4 bay leaves
  • 2 tbsp ground rosemary
  • dash salt n’ peppa
  • 1/2 cup green onion
  • 1 – 2 cups quinoa
  • Pine nuts

Using a large sauce pan/skillet fry beef in olive oil. Once beef has cooked set it aside and use the juices to fry onion, carrot, celery, garlic. Once the vegetables have reached an almost clear consistency add beef back and mix.

In a separate stewing pot, bring water, beef stock, beet juice to a boil and add vegetables and beef. Add Worcestershire, tabasco, and spices and cook for 1 1/2 hours.

Add quinoa 15 minutes prior to serving. Top with pine nut garnish and serve hot. Serves 8.

*If you are searching for beef stock without wheat products, I recommend Knorr’s Simply Beef Broth. It contains yeast extract but no gluten. You can also curry this too, which I wanted to do but I was out voted. Perhaps next time. Oh my it smells good lets eat!

photo

This recipe is an adaptation of the original recipe taken from Sophie Hansen for Kidspot, “Australia’s best recipe finder”.

4 thoughts on “Beef and Quinoa Stew

    • Agreed! If I were to review it in detail I would write another post. It’s really quite a good book. I’m just so disappointed that some people dismiss it so quickly without glance. To each their own I guess. Thanks for reading!!

  1. I’m intrigued! I think things like this are easy to dismiss because there are SO many different “fad” diets going around right now. The current big thing in the U.S. seems to be gluten-free (is that kind of the same as wheat-free?) and of course, “clean eating.” I think the problem is that it can all get so confusing. I mean, if I try to follow all of the eating regimens that are supposed to be exceedingly healthy for my body right now, I couldn’t consume wheat, dairy, sugar, or anything that could potentially contain inorganic ingredients. It almost seems like you have to pick one (or two) things these days and just stick with it. If there was one, all-inclusive, “THIS is how and what you should eat” book, I’d be first in line to buy it. However, I’m intrigued enough now by your own experiment to maybe give wheat-free a try. I don’t know, though… I really love my bread. 🙂

    • Yeah gluten-free seems to be the new “fad”. After reading wheat belly and taking what I want to consider as viable information, my decision to eliminate wheat from my diet has proven promising results. After dropping wheat and then cheating a little and having things like shake and bake or noodles, well, lets just say I learned my lesson. Its really amazing what eating wheat day in day out will do to your body chemistry. My take home message: read Wheat Belly. Even if you don’t want to and never plan to go off wheat, read the book. Take what information from it you think would be useful. The author teaches us about wheat and our bodies, he also shows us the systemic effects of eating wheat and how to simply just eat healthier. Im on week three of no wheat and I feel great, I never get tired during the day, im way more mentally alert than I used to be, I don’t have crazy bowel movements, headaches, aches, chest pain, etc. Wheats effects on everyone is different mine I would say is immune mediated gluten sensitivity. Any who, if you do read, I defo want to hear your thoughts…mainly because I know they’ll be awesome and hilarious!

Leave a Reply

