This calls for a celebration

For the past year and a half I have been writing this blog. Many of you have shown your interest and I thank you sincerely. The main focus of this blog as you know is bonsai.

Up until recently, I felt like I was really alone up here in my igloo braving the cold harsh canadian winter, growing trees by myself, trying to adapt trees to a climate that seems almost impossible. The way that I look at it though is like this. If trees grow here, so can bonsai. Then I tried it, and my trees grew and that ladies and gentlemen shows that you don’t need to be in the UK, British Columbia, Florida or any other place that sees beautiful weather year round to grow a successful bonsai.

Just recently I received an email from a gentleman living here in Edmonton and then just yesterday I received another email from another individual living here in Edmonton! I’m not sure if it’s just the spring air or if my blog is finally making something of itself but I have to say I feel a little proud of myself for reaching out. Edmonton really is a beautiful city and with all of the new developments going on (arena, bridges, etc.) it makes for a decent place to live for the middle of the prairies surrounded buy nothing.

arena_exterior_west_430x260 Downtown-Skyline-Edmonton-Alberta-Canada-01A

Anyways, I guess all I am really trying to say is that I always appreciate feedback from others. A big thank you to my locals but also a big thank you to all of the other bonsai blogs out there in the world. It is because of you that we can all talk to each other and it is a big reason why I am learning so much. If I was a millionaire I would start a nursery and fly experts in from all over the world to showcase their work and teach. I’m not a millionaire though, so I’ll just keep writing my blog and keep doing what I am doing. With a few more friends now. 🙂

6 thoughts on “This calls for a celebration

    • Absolutely. I stopped buy the ESRD on my lunch break today and ended up getting a bunch of trees! 😀 Thanks for the tip. The one I’m particularly excited about is the Limber Pine which I guess is an endangered species?

      • No problem. I’ve been trying to read up on soil mixtures. Need to pick up a bunch of new pots and some soil mixtures this weekend.

  1. Are you up for starting a club? Edmonton has almost twice the population of where I live and we have four clubs. I’ll bet there’s others who are fed up with that other group. I’m very new to bonsai but I’d be happy to share ideas of what is happening here if it would help you get going. Good thing you have wi-fi on your igloo! :]

    • That idea has crossed my mind. My only thing is that I don’t have the space to host something like that. Im quite new to bonsai as well having only done it for the past 3 years, I wouldn’t feel comfortable leading a group without a little bit more experience under my belt.

      • You can start as a discussion group and hopefully a sensei will appear. You’re in contact with Peter Tea. That’s a plus! Does Apache Seeds have a room? Maybe they’d let you meet there and be willing to carry more bonsai materials, which would boost their sales? You have way more bonsai experience than I do but I hear you about being comfortable leading . . . . At least you’re in contact now with a few more folks locally.

Leave a Reply

