A not so vacation, vacation

The summer is now winding down and that means that I am once again becoming an introvert. With fall fast approaching; yes that’s right I said it fall, I figured now is as good of a time as any to post to all of you who I have missed so much. The past couple of months have been a whirlwind of working multiple jobs, home renos, travelling, preparing for school and most importantly spending needed time with friends and family. Oh, and of course my trees. Which I am sure are feeling a little neglected…we don’t talk about it.

The highlight of my summer however, was my trip to the maritimes. Set in the deep forests of Nova Scotia which in my opinion is one of Canada’s most beautiful provinces; tucked away in the comforts of my cousins beautiful home, I spent a week enjoying good company, hospitality, food and culture. I’ve got to hand it to her and her husband, they’ve really created a beautiful home, on of which I will be very excited to stay at the next time I am visiting. I mean, who wouldn’t want to wake up to this at the breakfast table every morning. The things that I love most about Nova Scotia and being a bonsai enthusiast is that the province is filled with many trees. All of which are various species and very old. I’m really surprised it is not the bonsai capital of Canada, one could very easily build a beautiful nursery there.

sherry1

sherry2

You can only imagine all the potential yamadori I seen while I was here.

Some highlights of the trip include travelling around Halifax and Dartmouth as well taking a day trip to Prince Edward Island to visit family and walk on the breath taking red shore beaches of Cavendish.

A shot of the harbour and downtown Halifax from the Dartmouth side.

photoharbour1

Cavendish beach
cav1

Sand Dunes
dunesAll in all, it was an excellent trip and experience. I’m both eager and excited to return shortly but this time it will be strict R & R.

7 thoughts on “A not so vacation, vacation

  1. This is one place that I plan to visit at some point in my life (though, generally speaking, I am weary of traveling). I, too, have a certain affinity for those of the tree persuasion. I like that they can’t talk. Maybe that’s the introvert in me coming forth. ❤

    • If you want to go and rent a cottage I recommend the off season as the summer months can be quite pricey and not worth it most of the time since the weather changes so rapidly.

  2. Hi there,
    My name is Jane and I’m with Dwellable.
    I was looking for blogs about Prince Edward Island to share on our site and I came across your post…If you’re open to it, shoot me an email at jane(at)dwellable(dot)com.
    Hope to hear from you soon!
    Jane

Leave a Reply

